Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

The Library: Researching your Assignment

Researching Your Assignment

Having the right skills and tools to perform effective research can make a huge difference in the success of your assignment. Essential kit; your Library and your Learning Adviser.

A Subject Guide is a dedicated guide which has been created by the Learning Adviser for your subject. It contains carefully selected resources most relevant to your subject area, from books and videos to eResources, reading lists and news feeds. 

Use the drop down menu below to select a subject guide.

The Library has access to a broad range of eResource databases, full of different types of information for a variety of subjects. You can select a database from the drop-down menu to begin searching a database. Visit a subject guide to find the most relevant eResources, or follow the 'view more results' link below and filter your results by subject.

An excellent place to begin research is to search the Library catalogue. This will show you which books and eBooks we have available for you to borrow or access.

Learning Advisers are members of the Library Team who specialise in providing support for particular subjects. Each course at College will have a dedicated Learning Adviser who can provide one-to-one support with your research and study skills.

Visit Meet the Team to find your Learning Adviser.

Book cover image for doing research

Doing Research

This concise, easy-to-read guide gives you all the basic knowledge needed for planning and doing research well, whatever your course of study.

Book cover image for Research Methodology

Research Methodology

This practical book is designed for anyone who is planning to undertake a research project in the social sciences for the first time. Organised around eight operational steps, it explains difficult procedures step-by-step.

Book cover image for Research Proposal

Research Proposal

When it comes to research proposals, there are essential elements and students often forget them, miss them, or struggle to find a workable plan. This book gives you a clever, beautiful workbook packed with real life examples to keep on track.

Book cover image for the undergraduate research handbook

The Undergraduate Research Handbook

This practical, research-informed text will provide students across all disciplines with models, tasks and activities to enable them to plan, action, write and present quality research.

Book cover image for doing your research project

Doing Your Research Project

This is the market leading book for anyone doing their research project. Clear, concise and extremely readable, this book provides a practical, step-by-step guide to doing a research project from start to finish.

Book cover image for doing essays and assignments

Doing Essays and Assignments

Giving students an insider's view of what lecturers and professors are looking for when they set essays and assignments, this text provides practical and effective guidance on how to write successful essays and other written assignments.

Useful Websites

Videos

If you need any help with this topic, get in touch with one of our Learning Advisers.